Front Page

In This Issue

Compass Features

Job Opps



October at PENN



Almanac Homepage

Compass Homepage

Staff Box


University of Pennsylvania

Academic Calendar, 1997-98

1997 Fall Term
Move-in and registration for Transfer Students Thursday-Friday August 28-29
Center for University of Pennsylvania Identification (CUPID) opens in Palestra Friday-Tuesday August 29-September 2
Move-in for first-year students, New Student Orientation Saturday August 30
Undergraduate DeansÕ Meeting; Penn Reading Project Sunday August 31
Labor Day; Community Building Day Monday September 1
Advising begins,New Student Convocation, Opening Exercises and Placement Examinations Tuesday September 2
First day of classes Wednesday September 3
Community Service Day Saturday September 6
Add period ends Friday September 19
Drop period ends Friday October 10
Fall term break Saturday-Tuesday October 11-14
Family Weekend Friday-Sunday October 24-26
Advance registration, Spring Term Monday-Sunday November 3-16
Homecoming Saturday November 8
Thanksgiving recess begins at close of classes Wednesday November 26
Thanksgiving recess ends 8 a.m. Monday December 1
Fall term classes end Monday December 8
Reading days Tuesday-Thursday December 9-11
Final Examinations Friday-Friday December 12-19
Fall semester ends Friday December 19
    1998 Spring Term
Registration for undergraduate Transfer Students Thursday-Friday January 8-9
Spring semester classes begin Monday January 12
Add period ends Friday January 23
Drop period ends Friday February 13
Spring recess begins at close of classes Friday March 6
Classes resume at 8 a.m. Monday March 16
Advance registration for fall and summer sessions Monday-Sunday March 23-April 5
Spring term classes end Friday April 24
Reading days Monday-Wednesday April 27-29
Final Examinations Thursday-Friday April 30-May 8
Alumni Day Saturday May 16
Baccalaureate Sunday May 17
Commencement Monday May 18
    1998 Summer Session
12-week Evening Session classes begin* Tuesday May 19
First Session classes begin Tuesday May 19
First Session classes end Friday June 26
Second Session classes begin Monday June 29
Independence Day July 4
Second Session, 12-week Evening Session Classes end August 7

* Options will be arranged for those who have scheduled commencement.

Return to:Almanac, University of Pennsylvania, September 30, 1997, Volume 44, Number 6