Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors & Other Things


APS: Dr. Kuklick

Bruce Kuklick

Dr. Bruce Kuklick, the Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professor of American History, has been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society. Dr. Kuklick has written eight books on topics as wide-ranging as American scholars of the Near East, baseball and the history of philosophy. He is currently working on a book examining the ways in which scholars have understood war and the influence they have had on diplomacy. The Philosophical Society was founded in Philadelphia in 1743 and counts among it's past members, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Charles Darwin and Marie Curie. Dr. Kuklick is the 12th member of the SAS faculty to be elected a member of APS.


Clara Franzini-Armstrong

Biophysical Society: Dr. Franzini-Armstrong

Dr. Clara Franzini-Armstrong, professor of cell and developmental biology, has been elected to serve a two-year term on the executive board of the Biophysical Society. The Society publishes the Biophysical Journal, and promotes careers in the field of biosphysics. It was founded in 1956 and currently has nearly 7,000 members.


Honorary Degree: Dr. Hackney

Dr. Sheldon Hackney, professor of history, and emeritus president of Penn, received an Honorary Doctor of Humanities from Muhlenberg College in Allentown on May 23. Dr. Hackney, the former chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities under President Clinton, was also the commencement speaker for the 156th Commencement Ceremony at Muhlenberg College.


AAIEP: Dr. Billmyer

Kristine Billmyer

Dr. Kristine Billmyer, director of English Language Programs, has been selected as the next president of the American Association of Intensive English Programs (AAIEP).  As director of the ELP, Dr. Billmyer has taught and designed a number of English-as-a-second-language courses, organized the first group of evening program courses, designed and coordinated the English Language and Cultural Perspectives Program for the Joseph H. Lauder Institute of Management and International Studies, and led a major reform of the ELP's Intensive Program curriculum.   In addition, she is an adjunct professor at GSE with research interests in cross-cultural variation in language use and the acquisition of sociolinguistic competence by second language learners. AAIEP is the country's largest professional association for intensive English language programs and practitioners.


Critical Writing Teaching Fellowships

The following are the recipients of the 2004-2005 Critical Writing Teaching Fellowships:

  • Eli Alberts, East Asian Languages & Civilizations, GAS '09
  • Ari Blatt, Romance Languages, GAS '04
  • K. Dillon Brown, English, GAS '09
  • Rachel Buurma, English, GAS '09
  • Kyle Farley, History, GAS '04
  • Paja Faudree, Religious Studies, GAS '04
  • Alexine Fleck, English, GAS '05
  • Sandra Grady, Folklore and Folklife, GAS'06
  • Shaman Hatley, Religious Studies, GAS '06
  • Miriam Jacobson, English, GAS '04
  • John Lessard, English, GAS '05
  • Erica Miller, Romance Languages, GAS '10
  • Lauren Nauta, History, GAS '05
  • Daniel Party, Music, GAS '10
  • Grant Potts, Religious Studies, GAS '09
  • Annie Rosemurgy, Anthropology, GAS '05
  • Jessica Rosenfeld, English, GAS '09
  • Natasha Ruiz-Gomez, History of Art, GAS '08
  • Mary Beth Wetli, Germanic Languages & Literature, GAS '10


Annenberg Teaching Award

Lee Humphreys, a graduate student in the Annenberg School for Communication, has been awarded this year's James D. Woods Award for graduate student teaching. The award is given in recognition of outstanding teaching by an Annenberg graduate student and is presented by the undergraduate Communication Society.


The President's Award for Undergraduate Research

Initiated by Dr. Judith Rodin, the President's Award recognizes "the best of the best" of undergraduate research at Penn. The Center for Undergraduate Research and Fellowships announced that the recipients were selected by a faculty committee from 75 papers and projects already chosen for departmental distinction. The President's Award brings with it a $1,000 honorarium as well as publication in Res, Penn's new journal devoted to undergraduate research.

Natalia Adler, C '04; advisor: Dr. Lydie Moudileno; Postmodernisme et Feminisme dans le Contexte Antillais: Une Analyse Litteraire d'Amour de Marie Chauvet

Andria Bibiloni, C '04; advisor: Dr. Julie Schneider; Grandma, Grandpa, Mom and Home

Emily Blumenthal, C '04; advisor: Dr. Sheldon Hackney; Facing the Music: Songs by American Soldiers in the Vietnam War, 1961-1973

Jennifer Burgess, C '04; advisor: Dr. Carlos Alonso; La Literatura Postdictatorial de Chile y Argentina: Carlson, Timerman, Traba y Strejilevich

Sean Cusack, SEAS '04, Joyce Tam, SEAS '04; Eiji Takizawa, SEAS '04; advisor: Dr. Talid R. Sinno; The Production of Silicon Wafers Through the Use of the Czochralski Growth Process

Terri Ginsberg, C '04; advisor: Dr. Thomas Childers; Profile of Courage: The Story of Simone Weil Lipman

Alistair Green, C '04; advisor: Dr. Lee Cassanelli; Noble Capitalism: An Analysis of the Prosperity of the Murid Tariqa in Senegal

Lynn Huang, C '04; advisor: Dr. Max Cavitch; Between Manuscripts and Print: George Gascoigne as the Professional Poet

Justin Hulbert, C '04; advisors: Dr. Lila Gleitman, Dr. Anna Papafragou; The Role of Scene and Syntax in Mental Verb Learning

 Philip Labo, C '04; Advisor: Dr. David Roos; A Cross-platform Comparison of Malaria Gene Expression Date Sets

Kate Lehman, C '04; Advisor: Dr. Rogers Smith; The Bush Administration, Foreign Aid, and the Motives Behind the Millennium Challenge Account

Erica Miao, C '05; advisor: Dr. Vicki Mahaffey; The Uninterrupted Journey: Punctuation and Parenthesis in Virginia Woolf's To the Lighthouse



  Almanac, Vol. 50, No. 34, May 25, 2004