Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Final Report of the Consultative Committee on the Selection of a Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine

President Amy Gutmann and former Interim Provost Peter Conn convened the committee on Monday, February 14, 2005 under the chairmanship of Richard Davies, Professor of Physiology in Animal Biology, School of Veterinary Medicine (SVM).

The committee members were: Brenda Casper, Professor of Biology, SAS; Christine Connelly, Chair, Board of Overseers, SVM; Kenneth Drobatz, Professor of Critical Care, Clinical Studies-PHL, SVM; Steven Fluharty, Professor of Pharmacology, Animal Biology, SVM; Christopher Hunter, Associate Professor of Parasitology, SVM; Sarah Kagan, Doris K. Schwartz Term Professor of  Gerontological Nursing, SON; Laurie Landeau, Alumna and Board of Overseers, SVM; Susan Margulies, Professor of Bioengineering, SEAS; Heidi Reesink, V ’07; Dean Richardson, Charles W. Raker Professor of Equine Surgery, Clinical Studies-NBC, SVM; and Daniel Zawisza, V ’06.  The committee was staffed by Raymond Simon of the Office of the Associate Provost.

The search was international in scope. The committee sought candidates with impeccable scholarly and administrative credentials, demonstrated strong leadership, integrity, personal diplomacy and the intellectual vision to build upon the school’s existing academic, clinical and research strengths.

In order to better understand the issues and challenges facing the School of Veterinary Medicine, the committee consulted widely with students, faculty, alumni and members of the administration, including the current Dean, Alan Kelly. It solicited nominations from faculty, students, and alumni as well as from colleagues at peer institutions across the country and overseas. Advertisements were placed in the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, Nature and Science, and were posted on the websites of various professional associations. In addition, the committee engaged the services of a search firm, SpencerStuart, to assist in identifying and screening candidates.

Sixty-seven individuals were nominated or expressed interest in the position, the contacts being made either through the committee directly or the consultants at the search firm. The committee selected 21 dossiers for close review and gave serious consideration to 10 candidates, who were interviewed in the initial round. Five candidates were invited to return to campus for a second interview. Two of these candidates were women, and there was one internal candidate.

After careful deliberation, the committee discussed their recommendations with President Amy Gutmann and Provost Ronald Daniels, who subsequently announced the appointment of Joan Hendricks as Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Hendricks is the Henry and Corinne R. Bower Professor of Small Animal Medicine and Section Chief of Critical Care in the Department of Clinical Studies-PHL. She is also the founding director of the Veterinary Clinical Research Center and holds a secondary appointment as a professor in the Department of Medicine in Penn’s School of Medicine. Her appointment as the next dean of Penn’s School of Veterinary Medicine will become effective January 1, 2006 and a resolution to that effect was presented and approved by the Trustees at the meeting of the Full Board on November 4, 2005.

—Richard Davies, Chair


  Almanac, Vol. 52, No. 12, November 15, 2005


November 15, 2005
Volume 52 Number 12


top of page
Back to Contents page