Print This Issue

From the Office of the Provost
October 2, 2007, Volume 54, No. 6

Retirement of Dilys Winegrad: Director of the Arthur Ross Gallery

Dilys Winegrad, GR’70, who has directed the Arthur Ross Gallery since its founding in 1982, has announced her intention to retire from the University at the end of 2007. A consultative committee has been established to advise Provost Ronald Daniels on the appointment of her replacement.

Dr. Winegrad began her 32-year Penn career in 1975, as assistant to the president for special projects in the administration of President Martin Meyerson. In the 1982-83 academic year, her position expanded to include the direction of the University’s new Arthur Ross Gallery. In 1994, she was appointed the Gallery’s first full-time director. 

From its initial founding through its most recent history, the Gallery benefited from the foresight and generosity of Arthur Ross, the New York-based philanthropist who died on September 10, at the age of 96. In addition to providing the Gallery with regular support, he helped it achieve some of its most ambitious exhibitions, including selections from the Beaverbrook Collection and Oxford’s Ashmolean Museum.

“It has been a privilege to help develop the Arthur Ross Gallery,” said Dr. Winegrad. “When I made my decision to retire, Martin Meyerson, who believed such a gallery was needed; Arthur Ross, who made it happen; and Kitty Carlisle Hart, who chaired its Friends for many years, were all living.  As we mourn these recent losses, I have confidence that what has often been described as ‘a little gem’ will continue to thrive.”

“Dilys built the Arthur Ross Gallery into a showcase of a remarkable range of art,” said Provost Daniels.  “She created a natural extension of our educational mission, while giving us a wide variety of new sights and experiences. We remain immensely grateful to her, and to the unwavering support she provided to the vision of Arthur Ross.”

A committee has been assembled for consultation on the search for a new Director. Members of the committee are:

• Vincent Price, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, Steven H. Chaffee Professor of Communication and Political Science, Annenberg School (Chair)
• Karen Beckman, Elliot and Roslyn Jaffe Associate Professor, History of Art; Director, Cinema Studies (SAS)
• David Fox, Associate Director, College Houses and Academic Services
• Jeffrey Kallberg, Professor and Chair, Music (SAS)
• Joshua Mosley, Associate Professor, Fine Arts (School of Design)
• Gwendolyn DuBois Shaw, Associate Professor, History of Art; Director, Visual Studies (SAS)
• Becky Young, Adjunct Associate Professor (Retired), Fine Arts (School of Design); Member, Arthur Ross Gallery Advisory Committee
• Leo Charney, Office of the Provost (Staff)

Almanac - October 2, 2007, Volume 54, No. 6