Print This Issue

Consultative Review Committee for Annenberg School Dean Reappointment
September 15, 2009, Volume 56, No. 03

President Amy Gutmann and Provost Vincent Price have announced the formation of a Consultative Review Committee to advise them on the reappointment of Michael Delli Carpini as Dean of the Annenberg School for Communication.  Dean Delli Carpini’s initial term as Dean will end on June 30, 2010.  University policy requires that a Consultative Review Committee be established to advise the President and Provost whenever the reappointment of a Dean is contemplated.  In addition, each member of the standing faculty of the Dean’s School is given the opportunity to give confidential advice and views directly to the President and Provost.

The members of the Consultative Review Committee on the Reappointment of Michael Delli Carpini as Dean of the Annenberg School for Communication are:

Chair:            Afaf Meleis, Dean, School of Nursing

Faculty:         Joseph Cappella, ASC
                       Martin Fishbein, ASC
                       Marybeth Gasman, GSE
                       Robert Hornik, ASC
                       John Jackson, Jr., ASC & SAS
                       Geeta Menon, Wharton
                       Peter Stallybrass, SAS 

Students:     Andrew Crocco, PhD student, ASC
                     Julie Gutowski, undergraduate communication major, SAS

Alumni Representative:     William Novelli, ASC’64

Staff to the Committee:     Adam Michaels, President’s Office
                                          Stephen P. Steinberg, President’s Office

The Review Committee welcomes and encourages input from all members of the Penn community. Communications may be directed to any member of the Committee, but are most conveniently forwarded to Dr. Steinberg (sps@upenn.edu) or Mr. Michaels (adampm@upenn.edu), who are supporting the review process. Comments should be submitted no later than October 15, 2009.

Almanac - September 15, 2009, Volume 56, No. 03