Print This Issue

McCabe Fund Fellow and Pilot Awards: June 1
April 13, 2010, Volume 56, No. 29

The McCabe Fund Advisory Committee is calling for applications from junior faculty in the School of Medicine and the School of Veterinary Medicine for the 2010 Thomas B. and Jeannette E. Laws McCabe Fund Fellow and Pilot Awards. The deadline for submission is Tuesday, June 1, 2010.

Junior faculty in these schools should contact the chair of their department or Dana J. Napier, staff coordinator, School of Medicine administration (215)-573-3221 or djnapier@exchange.upenn.edu for information and application forms. The McCabe Fund Advisory Committee will announce the winners at its annual June meeting.

2009 Winners

Last year Matthew Deardorff, Pediatrics; and Brett Kaufman, Animal Biology received a Fellow Award of $50,000 each.

Winners of the Pilot Award of $30,270 each were: Edward Behrens, Pediatrics; Rajat Deo, Medicine; Edwin De Zoeten, Pediatrics; C. Jessica Dine, Medicine; Karen Krok, Medicine; Matthew Levine, Surgery; Alex Lin, Radiation Oncology; Samir Mehta, Orthopaedic Surgery; Michael Milone, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Jason Stoller, Pediatrics; Grace Wang, Surgery, and Honglin Zou, Emergency Medicine.

The McCabe Awards were established in 1969 by a generous gift from Mr. and Mrs. Thomas B. McCabe to the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine to support junior faculty who initiate fresh and innovative biomedical and surgical research projects and who have received no or limited external research funding while in their first through third years on the faculty at the School of Medicine or the School of Veterinary Medicine at Penn. Guidelines and instructions are also available to determine eligibility.

Almanac - April 13, 2010, Volume 56, No. 29