Print This Issue

Nominations for Offices Requested

January 10, 2012, Volume 58, No. 17

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule:

To: Members of the Standing Faculty

From: Camille Charles, Chair

Nominations for Offices Requested

In accordance with the Rules of the Faculty Senate you are invited to suggest candidates for the posts and terms stated below, with supporting letters if desired. Candidates’ names should be submitted promptly to Larry Gladney, chair of the Senate Nominating Committee, by telephone at (215) 898-4683 or by email to gladney@sas.upenn.edu

The following posts are to be filled for 2011-2012:

  • Chair-elect:
    (Incumbent: Susan Margulies)

  • Secretary-elect:
    (Incumbent: Lisa Lewis)

  • Four At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (3-year term)
    (Incumbents: Matt Hartley, David Eckmann, Michael Topp, and Sampath Kannan)

  • One Assistant Professor Member of the Senate Executive Committee (2-year term)
    (Incumbent: Kristen Harknett)

  • Three Members of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (3-year term)
    (Incumbents: Mark Helfaer, Eric Weinberg, and one vacancy)

  • Two Members of the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (3-year term)
    (Incumbents: William Dailey and Tim Rebbeck)

Nominating Committee Elected

The Senate Executive Committee’s slate of nominees for the Senate Nominating Committee was circulated to the Senate Membership on December 6, 2011. No additional nominations by petition have been received within the prescribed time. Therefore, according to the Senate Rules, the Executive Committee’s slate is declared elected.

Those elected are:

  • Pedro Ponte Castañeda (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

  • Ellis Golub (School of Dental Medicine)

  • Larry Gladney (School of Arts and Sciences/Physics) Chair

  • Peter Kuriloff (Graduate School of Education)

  • Terri Lipman (School of Nursing)

  • Joshua Plotkin (School of Arts and Sciences/Biology)

  • Abigail Smith (School of Veterinary Medicine)

  • Herb Smith (School or Arts and Sciences/Sociology)

  • Beth Winkelstein (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Related: Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda

Almanac - January 10, 2012, Volume 58, No. 17