Print This Issue

Steering Committee, Self-Study 2014

April 10, 2012, Volume 58, No. 29

Penn will undergo its reaccreditation by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education in 2014. Completed every ten years, this is a critical process in which the University conducts an in-depth campus-wide Self-Study, followed by a visit from a team of peer evaluators chosen by MSCHE. This team carries out a detailed review that evaluates the University’s compliance with national standards and offers recommendations for the future. The Self-Study process will be guided by a Steering Committee and seven working groups in specific topic areas, as listed. The Steering Committee encourages the campus community to learn more about the Reaccreditation and Self-Study process at www.upenn.edu/provost/reaccreditation_2014

Steering Committee

Andrew Binns, Chair  
Vice Provost for Education
Professor of Biology, School of Arts & Sciences 

Dennis DeTurck        
(Chair, Finance and Administration
Working Group)        
Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor and
Professor of Mathematics, School of Arts & Sciences

Robert Ghrist
(Chair, Integrating Knowledge Working Group)
Andrea Mitchell University Professor of Mathematics and Electrical & Systems Engineering
School of Arts & Sciences
School of Engineering & Applied Science

Bonnie Gibson
Vice President for Budget & Management Analysis

Mauro Guillen
(Chair, Global Engagement Working Group) Director, Joseph H. Lauder Institute of
Management & International Studies
Dr. Felix Zandman Professor of International Management, Wharton School

Matthew Hartley 
(Chair, Local Engagement Working Group) Associate Professor and Chair,
Division of Higher Education
Graduate School of Education

Vijay Kumar 
(Chair, Undergraduate Research
Working Group)
Deputy Dean for Education and UPS Foundation Professor, School of Engineering & Applied Science

Stacey Lopez              
Assistant Vice President for Institutional Research and Analysis

Kathleen McCauley 
(Chair, Access and Equity Working Group)
Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Class of 1965 Professor of Cardiovascular Nursing, School of Nursing

Joann Mitchell           
Vice President for Institutional Affairs

Georgette Chapman Phillips 
(Chair, Assessment of Student Learning
Working Group)
Vice Dean, Undergraduate Division and
David B. Ford Professor of Real Estate, Wharton School

Ed. Note: See the coverage of this topic which was presented at the March University Council meeting (Almanac April 3, 2012).

Almanac - [an error occurred while processing this directive], Volume 58, No. 29