Faculty Senate of the University of Pennsylvania

The Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission (SCOF)

The Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission consists of at least six members. The Faculty Senate Chair and Chair-Elect serve ex officio.

The Senate Committee on Faculty the Academic Mission oversees and advises the Senate Executive Committee on matters relating to the University's policies and procedures concerning the academic mission, including the structure of the academic staff, the tenure system, faculty appointments and promotions, faculty research, and faculty governance.

In general, the Committee deals with the matters covered by the following sections of the University's Faculty Handbook: I.E.-F., I.H.2., II.A.-D.

2014-2015 SCOF Committee Members

Santosh S. Venkatesh (School of Engineering and Applied Science /ESE), Chair
Nancy Hanrahan (School of Nursing )
Ron Harty (School of Vet Medicine)
Justin McDaniel (School of Arts & Sciences/Religious Studies)
Mindy Schuster (Perelman School of Medicine/Infectious Diseases)
Amy Sepinwall (Wharton School/Legal Studies & Business Ethics)
Tom Sollecito (School of Dental Med/Oral Medicine)
Ex Officio: Reed Pyeritz (PSOM/Medicine), Faculty Senate Chair-Elect
Ex Officio: Claire Finkelstein (School of Law), Faculty Senate Chair

SCOF Annual Reports

Report of the Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission, 2013-2014

Contact The Faculty Senate

Fisher Hall

Office of the Faculty Senate

Box 9 College Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6303

(215) 898-6943

Faculty Senate Tri-Chairs

Faculty Senate Chair

Faculty Senate Chair-Elect

Faculty Senate Past Chair