Born Henry Graham Greene on October 2, 1904 in Hertfordshire County in England, Graham Greene started writing at an early age. During and after college at Oxford he became an editor of several journals and newsletters until he began to write full novels. He converted to Catholicism in 1926 after Vivienne Dayrell-Browning encouraged him to learn more about the religion. He then married her in October 1927 (separated in 1948). Greene published his first novel, The Man Within, in 1929. During WWII, he worked for the Secret Intelligence Service and the Counter Intelligence Service in London where he found much material for his books. Greene was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Screenplay in 1950 for The Fallen Idol. In 1991, he died in his home in Vevey, Switzerland. More Complete Bio

Other Books by Graham Greene:

The Man Within (1929)
Stamboul Train
Brighton Rock (1938)
The Heart of the Matter (1940)
The Power and the Glory (1940)
The Ministry of Fear (1943)
The Fallen Idol (1948)
The Third Man (1950)
The End of the Affair (1951)
Loser Takes All (1955)
Our Man in Havana (1958)
A Burnt Out Case (1960)
Comedians (1966)
Travels with My Aunt
The Human Factor

For a complete listing of his novels, short stories, and non-fiction, please see this site:

For a complete listing of movies, please see this site:,+Graham+(I)

Home | Schedule | PRP Room | Library | Discussion Leaders | Novel | Author | Archive | Contact | Links