New releases from old names and new

This coming month, "The World Cafe" features new music by Haydn -- Lili Haydn, whose first album "Lili" has just been released. Steve Poltz, who wrote Jewel's "You Were Meant for Me," also makes his solo debut on Feb. 27, and several old familiar faces will also stop by over the next few weeks:

  • Thursday, Feb. 26 Former Dream Academy vocalist Kate St. John

  • Friday, Feb. 27 Singer-songwriter Steve Poltz

  • Monday, March 2 Portuguese world-music group Madradeus

  • Tuesday, March 3 Kevin Johnson and The Linemen perform songs from their album "Parole Music"

  • Wednesday, March 4 Jen Trynin and her band

  • Thursday, March 5 The Derailers play songs from their new album "Reverb Deluxe"

  • Friday, March 6 Singer/songwriter Loudon Wainwright III

  • Monday, March 9 An encore presentation of David Poe's studio visit

  • Tuesday, March 10 Lili Haydn

  • Wednesday, March 11 Chris Stills (Stephen's son)

  • Thursday, March 12 David Dye presents the songs of Pete Seeger

  • Friday, March 13 Robbie Robertson discusses his latest project

  • Monday, March 16 Richard Shindell

  • Tuesday, March 17 "The World Cafe's" annual St. Patrick's Day Special

"The World Cafe", which is heard on over 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m.weekdays. All live appearances air during the 3 to 4 p.m. hour.

Originally published on February 26, 1998