Four Guggenheim Fellowships awarded to Penn profs

Four professors have been awarded prestigious Guggenheim Fellowships:

Eugene W. Beier, professor of physics, was recognized for his work on neutrinos emitted by the sun;

Larry Gross, Sol Worth Professor of Communication at Annenberg, was recognized for work on lesbians, gay men and the media;

Mauro F. Guillén, assistant professor of management at the Wharton School, was recognized for work on business, labor and globalization in Argentina, South Korea, and Spain; and

Neil H. Shubin, associate professor of biology, was recognized for work on the origin of evolutionary novelty.

Two of the five Guggenheim Fellowships in Music Composition this year have gone to graduates of Penn's doctoral program in composition: both David Crumb (son of Penn emeritus Professor George Crumb) and Robert Maggio hold Ph.D.s in composition from Penn.

Apgar Award

Maria Delivoria-Papadopoulos, emeritus professor of pediatrics and physiology, received the 1997 Virginia Apgar Award in Perinatal Pediatrics, given to "an individual whose career has had a continuing influence on the well-being of newborn infants."

Society elections

Kenneth R. Laker, Alfred Fitler Moore Professor of Electrical Engineering, is the 1998 president-elect of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Inc., the world's largest technical professional society. He will take the office of president Jan. 1, 1999.

Louis P. Berneman, managing director for the Center for Technology Transfer, is the 1998 president elect of the Association of University Technology Managers, a group with more than 1,900 members representing some 250 academic institutions and an equal number of companies in the United States and Canada.

Susan Fuhrman, dean of the Graduate School of Education, was elected to be vice president of the Education Policy and Politics Division of the American Educational Research Association, in the first open national election in the organization's history.

Originally published on May 14, 1998