The return of the Cowboy Junkies


Grant Lee Buffalo. Cowboy Junkies. Scenes from an acid trip through the West? No, just two of the featured artists on "The World Cafe" during the next two weeks. Here's the complete rundown:

Thursday, Oct. 1 Singer/songwriter Dayna Kurtz visits the Cafe Friday, Oct. 2 Grant Lee Buffalo discuss and perform selections from their new album, "Jubilee" Monday, Oct. 5 An encore presentation of Joe Ely's visit to the Cafe Tuesday, Oct. 6 Massive Attack perform in the studio Wednesday, Oct. 7 Grey Eye Glances talk about their latest album, "Painted Pictures" Thursday, Oct. 8 Interview with Chocolate Genius, plus songs from his latest album, "Black Music" Friday, Oct. 9 Eagle-Eye Cherry chats with David and performs from his debut album, "Desireless" Monday, Oct. 12 An encore presentation of the Cowboy Junkies' visit to the Temperance House Tuesday, Oct. 13 Local band Marah plays tunes from their first album, "Let's Cut the Crap and Hook Up Later Tonight" Wednesday, Oct. 14 A program dedicated to the words and music of Joni Mitchell

"The World Cafe", which is heard on over 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air during the 3 to 4 p.m. hour.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page | What's On

Originally published on October 1, 1998