Searches for dean, directors begin

A search committee for a new dean for the School of Engineering and Applied Science has been named as well as search committees to replace directors for both the Institute of Contemporary Art and the Fels Center of Government.

The SEAS Search Committee members include faculty from across the University, several SEAS faculty, a graduate and an undergraduate student and a member of the SEAS Board of Overseers, Interim Provost Michael L. Wachter and President Judith Rodin announced Nov. 4. The school's "future progress will depend in large measure on the vision and leadership of the person selected as dean," they stated in the announcement. The ICA and Fels committees were announced Oct. 30.

Chaired by Morris Cohen, professor of operations and information management in the Wharton School, the 11-member SEAS committee includes (in alphabetical order): Alyssa Abo, bioengineering undergraduate; Portonovo Ayyaswamy, Asa Whitney Professor of Dynamical Engineering; Peter F. Davies, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and bioengineering and director of the Institute for Medicine and Engineering; Peter K. Davies, professor of materials science and engineering; David Ege, chemical engineering Ph.D. candidate; Louis Girifalco, University Professor of Materials Science; Vijay Kumar, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, computer and information science, and systems engineering; Kathleen Hall Jamieson, dean, Annenberg School for Communication; Mitchell Marcus, RCA Professor of Artificial Intelligence and chair, computer and information sciences; and Mitchell Quain, an alumnus and chair of the SEAS Board of Overseers.

The committee is charged with finding a replacement for former dean Gregory Farrington, who assumed responsibilities as the 12th president of Lehigh University Aug. 15. Eduardo D. Glandt, the Heuer Professor of Chemical Engineering, is interim dean.

The Fels Center Director Search Committee will be chaired by Jack Nagel, professor of political science, and the ICA Director Search Committee will be chaired by Gary Hack, dean of the Graduate School of Fine Arts.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on November 12, 1998