Albert J. Stunkard, professor emeritus of Psychiatry, has been awarded the 2004 Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health by the Institute of Medicine. The $20,000 prize was awarded for Stunkard’s contributions to psychiatry and mental health, particularly for his research on eating disorders.

The Association of American Medical Colleges has presented Steven L. Galetta, MD, with the Robert J. Glaser AOA Distinguished Teacher Award. The award recognizes his efforts to provide the nation’s next generation of doctors with an outstanding educational experience.

Wayne Worrell of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has won the 2004 Edward Goodrich Acheson Award from the Electrochemical Society. Worrell, who receives $10,000 along with his award, runs an internationally known research group in high-temperature materials, has published more than 110 scientific papers and holds 10 patents.

The American Association for the Surgery of Trauma has elected C. William Schwab, MD, as its new president. Schwab is professor of surgery and chief of the Division of Trauma and Surgical Care at Penn. His work has made Penn a Level I Regional Resource Trauma Center. The division was recently called a "model program" for the nation.

The Academisch Medisch Centrum (Academic Medical Center) and the University of Amsterdam in Holland has invited Charles P. O’Brien, MD, Ph.D. to present "The Anatomy Lesson" lecture, a tradition dating back to the 16th century. O’Brien is vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry, director of the Center for the Study of Addictions at Penn, and director of psychiatric research at the Philadelphia Veteran’s Administration Medical Center.


Originally published on December 9, 2004