Old faves and a Newcomer

Blues-rocker John Hiatt, doo-wop legend Dion and singer-songwriter Carrie Newcomer are among “World Cafe” host David Dye’s guests these next two weeks. Carrie’s not the only newcomer, though: Erin McKeown makes her Cafe debut on Tuesday, Oct. 3.

Thursday, Sept. 28 Nickel Creek stops by for a performance and interview

Friday, Sept. 29 The World Cafe visits with John Hiatt in Boulder, Colo., as he performs selections from his latest release, “Crossing Muddy Waters”

Monday, Sept. 2 An encore presentation of Equation’s visit

Tuesday, Oct. 3 Erin McKeown gives an interview and performance featuring music from her debut album, “Distillation”

Wednesday, Oct. 4 Melvin Taylor talks about his latest album, “Bang That Bell”

Thursday, Oct. 5 Five For Fighting performs music from “America Town”

Friday, Oct. 6 David Dye visits Emmylou Harris at Sirius Recording Studios as she performs music from her new album, “Red Dirt Girl”

Monday, Oct. 9 An encore presentation of Dar Williams’ visit

Tuesday, Oct. 10 Singer/songwriter Carrie Newcomer visits the Cafe studios for a performance and interview

Wednesday, Oct. 11 Doo-wop godfather Dion talks about and plays music from his new album, “Deja Nu”

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.


Originally published on September 28, 2000