Abel and Jarrett win Packards

Ted Abel picture

Ted Abel

Joseph Jarrett

Two Penn professors have won prestigious David and Lucile Packard Foundation Awards, giving them each a grant of $625,000 for their research, which has included Alzheimer’s disease and schizophrenia. Packard selected them and 22 others as the “most promising science and engineering researchers at universities in the United States.”

Ted Abel, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology, is currently researching the role of brain structures in mental illness. He hypothesizes that changes in the strength of synapses affect learning and memory, and may play an important role in a variety of brain disorders. He recently received the Freedman Award from the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD).

Joseph Jarrett, Ph.D., assistant professor of biochemistry and biophysics, studies the biochemistry of radicals, which are highly reactive molecules that do not contain the correct number of electrons. He is investigating how proteins make and control radicals for beneficial reactions, particularly in the biosynthesis of the vitamin biotin. He is also interested in the role of uncontrolled radicals in oxidative damage, particularly in neurological diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease.

A first

Lawrence W. Sherman, Ph.D., has been elected president of the American Society of Criminology (ASC) for 2001 to 2002, making him the first person to ever serve simultaneously at president of both the ASC and the International Society of Criminology. Sherman, the Albert M. Greenfield Professor of Human Relations and director of the Fels Center of Government, has influenced public policy and criminological theory around the world with his research on what really works in policing and prevention of crime.

Professional fellows

Terri H. Lipman, Ph.D., CNRP, RN, assistant professor of nursing of children in the School of Nursing, has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, considered one of the highest honors in the profession.

Three members of the Graduate School of Fine Arts faculty have been elected fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners: Eugénie L. Birch, Ph.D., chair and professor of city and regional planning; Britton Harris, emeritus professor of city and regional planning; and Richard Tustian, adjunct professor of city and regional planning.
Cancer fighter

Frances K. Barg, associate director of the Family Caregiver Cancer Education Program in the School of Nursing, will receive the American Cancer Society’s Cancer Control Award on Oct. 19. Barg is being honored for her career contributions to the cause of cancer control and her work with the family caregiver program.

’XPN racks ’em up again

WXPN and its staff picked up three major honors in the adult album alternative category at the 2000 Gavin Awards.

WXPN won Station of the Year, noncommercial, for the fifth consecutive year.

Bruce Warren was named Program Director of the Year, noncommercial.

Shawn Stewart, music director, took Music Director/Assistant Program Director of the Year honors in the noncommercial area.

In addition, “World Cafe” host David Dye won two awards from the National Federation of Community Broadcasters — a Silver Reel for the program’s “Indigenous People’s Day” special and a Special Merit Award for the “B.B. King Pays Tribute to Louis Jordan” show.

And closer to home, “Morning Show” host Michaela Majoun received Women’s Way’s Local Honoree Award, given to women who both exemplify and share the funding group’s mission of empowering women, promoting equal opportunity and helping women take control of their lives.

Originally published on October 12, 2000