Rockin' and twangin'

Rockabilly performer Sleepy LaBeef is the featured performer on “The World Cafe” Oct. 20, and the brains behind Cracker and Camper Van Beethoven pay host David Dye a visit the very next day. Besides these, the usual assortment of musical flavors are on the Cafe menu these next two weeks.

Thursday, Oct. 12 Teddy Thompson performs music from his debut album

Friday, Oct. 13 Yo La Tengo talk about and play music from “And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out”

Monday, Oct. 16 An encore presentation of Patty Larkin’s visit

Tuesday, Oct. 17 Erin McKeown drops by for a performance and interview featuring music from her debut album, “Distillation”

Wednesday, Oct. 18 World music percussionist Mino Cinelu discusses and plays music from his solo debut recording

Thursday, Oct. 19 It’s Rockabilly Day, with special guest Sleepy LaBeef

Friday, Oct. 20 David Lowery, Jonathan Segel and Johnny Hickman stop by for a performance and interview featuring music of Cracker and Camper Van Beethoven

Monday, Oct. 23 An encore presentation of Nickel Creek’s visit

Tuesday, Oct. 24 Jess Klein performs music from her new release, “Draw Them Near”

Wednesday, Oct. 25 The Cafe welcomes Matthew Ryan to the studios, featuring music from his latest effort, “East Autumn Grin”

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.


Originally published on October 12, 2000