Sweet harmony

This two-week “World Cafe” cycle opens in pure harmony with a salute to a cappella music featuring the Persuasions. After that, the folks who play instruments while singing take over again.

Thursday, Jan. 18 The Cafe explores all things a cappella with a special visit from the Persuasions

Friday, Jan. 19 Bob Weir stops by to talk about the latest Ratdog project, “Evening Moods”

Monday, Jan. 22 An encore presentation of Kate Rusby’s visit

Tuesday, Jan. 23 TBA

Wednesday, Jan. 24 Amy Rigby and Nelly Furtado visit David Dye

Thursday, Jan. 25 Plena Libre perform music from their new album, “Mas Libre”

Friday, Jan. 26 The Wallflowers discuss their latest album, “Breach”

Monday, Jan. 29 An encore presentation of Keb’ Mo’s visit

Tuesday, Jan. 30 TBA

Wednesday, Jan. 31 Trilok Gurtu visits Indre recording studios to perform music from his new album, “African Fantasy”

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.



Originally published on January 18, 2001