Students win study grants here and abroad

Nine Penn students have been selected to receive Fulbright grants for study abroad next year. The undergraduate Fellows are:

Ian Gelfand (C/EAS’01), a materials science major, who will study in Germany;

Andrea Morton (C’01), a German/international relations major, who will study in Germany;

Jasmine Park (C’01), an English major, who will study in Korea;

Rebecca Schrage (C’01), an economics/Asian & Middle Eastern studies major, who will study in Korea; and

Jae Song (C’01), a biology major, who will study in Germany.

And for graduate students:

Mark Brosseau (GSFA), a painting major, who will study in Iceland;

Gregory Flaxman (SAS), a comparative literature major, who will study in France;

Ashley West (SAS), a history of art major, who will study in Germany; and

Teresa Wojcik (GSE), an education, culture and society major, who will study in Poland.


Mina Kim (C’01), a French major, has been awarded a French Government Teaching Assistantship in France. While not officially a Fulbright grant, this award is administered by the same organization that administers the Fulbright.

Several additional Fulbright applications were pending at press time, according to Clare Cowen, advisor for graduate scholarships abroad.

DAAD grants

Two students have been granted Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (German Academic Exchange Service; DAAD) Annual Grants to study in Germany next academic year. They are:

Katalin Fuzer, a graduate student in the School of Arts and Sciences; and

Richard J. Ninness, a graduate student in the School of Arts and Sciences.

NSF grants

Eight current or former Penn undergraduates have received NSF Graduate Fellowship Awards to fund their graduate studies. The winners, listed here along with their area of study and graduate school, are:

Liza Comita (C’99), ecology, University of Georgia;

Kelle Cruz (C’00), astrophysics, Penn;

Steven Davis (EAS/W’01), aeronautical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Jason Downs (C’00), paleontology, Yale;

Patrick Garrigan (C’99), psychology and cognitive science, University of California, Los Angeles;

Nicole Hill (C’98), psychology, University of Michigan;

Maria Lehtinen (C’99), neuroscience, Harvard; and

Sara Shaughnessy (C/EAS’01), mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, Stanford.

Mellon Grant

Sophia Malamud (C’01), has won an Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship in Humanistic Studies. She is a linguistics and mathematics major and a University Scholar. The fellowship provides one year of graduate study in the humanities, including a stipend and payment of one year’s tuition and fees.

Soros Fellow

Dylan Pereira, who is pursuing joint master’s degrees at Wharton and at the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University, has been named a Paul and Daisy Soros New American Fellow, one of 30 named for 2001. More than 900 applicants, who are naturalized citizens, resident aliens or the children of naturalized citizens, applied this year. Fellows receive up to a $20,000 stipend plus half-tuition for up to two years of graduate study.

Deloitte & Touche Fellow

Andrew Van Buskirk, who is pursuing a Ph.D. at Wharton, has received a $20,000 fellowship grant from the Deloitte & Touche Foundation. He is one of 10 accounting doctoral students across the country selected as fellows. All students considered for the awards are recommended by the accounting faculties of their respective schools.

Originally published on May 3, 2001