NSF recognizes new faculty

George Pappas and Talid Sinno of the Engineering School received 2002 National Science Foundation Career Awards. The Career Award is NSF’s most prestigious award for new faculty members who effectively blend research and education and are most likely to become the academic leaders of the 21st century. Pappas, assistant professor of electrical and systems engineering, received the award for “Hierarchical Abstractions of Hybrid Systems.” Sinno, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received the award for “Systematic Multiscale Modeling of Directed Assembly in Semiconductor Materials Processing.”

Eugene K. Wolf, emeritus professor of music, has been elected the first honorary member of the Society for Eighteenth-Century Music. Wolf, who is internationally recognized as an expert on the 18th-century symphony, has written widely on 18th-century musical manuscripts and is now completing a major work on the history of the early classical symphony.

David Roos, the Merriam Professor in Biology and director of the Genomics Institute, has been given a 2002 Senior Scholar Award in Global Infectious Diseases by the Ellison Medical Foundation. The foundation funds research on molecular and cellular mechanisms of parasitic and infectious diseases, with a special focus on new research that might be under-funded in the United States. Roos is best known for his work on Plasmodium, the parasite that causes malaria.

Penn’s Department of Facilities and Real Estate Services received the 2002 Business Week /Architectural Record Award for its Left Bank office space. The award, presented October 23 at the Good Design is Good Business awards gala at the National Building Museum in Washington, honors “the collaboration of client and architect in achieving measurable business and organizational goals through the use of design.” The architect for the department was MGA Partners, Architects.

Rick Whitfield, vice president for audit and compliance, was honored with the Association of College and University Auditors’ member Excellence Award at its annual conference. The award is given for exceptional contribution to the advancement of internal auditing in higher education and to the mission of the ACUA.

Ted Bateman, director of fire and emergency service for the Division of Public Safety, was initiated into the Philadelphia Citizen’s Fire Prevention Committee this fall. The Fire Prevention Committee is a group of 70 citizens who support the Philadelphia Fire Department in their initiatives to prevent crimes.

“Justice Talking,” a weekly one-hour National Public Radio program produced by the Annenberg Public Policy Center, placed first in this year’s Nancy Dickerson Whitehead awards for excellence in reporting. The program was specifically recognized for “Directing America’s Drug War:” Which Way to a Safer Society?, which was taped on Sept. 10, 2001 and featured Drug Enforcement Administration chief Asa Hutchinson and New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson.

The award is sponsored by Drug Strategies, a Washington-based nonprofit organization that promotes more effective approaches to the nation’s drug problems.

Bernard E. Anderson, who holds the Whitney Young Chair at the Wharton School, was given the 2002-2003 Samuel Z. Westerfield Award by the National Economic Association on Jan. 3, 2003. The award was established in 1973 to honor African-American economists for public service and outstanding scholarly achievements. Professor Anderson was Assistant Secretary for Employment Standards at the U.S. Department of Labor during the Clinton Administration. He received his undergraduate degree in economics from Livingston College, his master’s degree in economics from Michigan State University, and his Ph.D. in business and applied economics at Penn.

Originally published on January 16, 2003