Comfort and joy - and some kickin' riffs


Christmas Eve may be a "silent night" by "World Cafe" standards, but they'll make up for it the next day with a rockin' Christmas celebration. The Cafe crew will also fill the holidays with live visits from alterna-rockers moe and They Might Be Giants and encore performances from Lyle Lovett and Keb' Mo'. Here are the highlights of the "World Cafe" schedule for the rest of the year:

Thursday, Dec. 3 Sony/550 Music cult rockers moe perform music from their new release "Tin Cans and Car Tires" in the studio Friday, Dec. 4 A visit from Texas troubador Jimmie Dale Gilmore Monday, Dec. 7 An encore presentation of Sinead Lohan's studio visit Tuesday, Dec. 8 Jim's Big Ego pay a studio visit Wednesday, Dec. 9 Harpist Andreas Vollenweider talks with David Dye Thursday, Dec. 10 They Might Be Giants visit the Cafe Friday, Dec. 11 Micky Hart's Planet Drum invade the Tongue & Groove Studios Monday, Dec. 14 A Lyle Lovett encore presentation Tuesday, Dec. 15 A performance and interview with Montreal chanteuse Lhasa Wednesday, Dec. 16 The Nields visit the studio Thursday, Dec. 17 Martin Sexton performs selections from his latest album, "The American" Friday, Dec. 18 Allison Kraus visits Tongue & Groove Studios Monday, Dec. 21 An encore presentation of Keb' Mo's studio visit Tuesday, Dec. 22 The Best of the World Cafe Wednesday, Dec. 23 The Best of Tongue & Groove Thursday, Dec. 24 The Cafe celebrates Christmas with quiet music Friday, Dec. 25 It's a rockin' Christmas at the World Cafe! Monday, Dec. 28 A roundup of the best of this year's acoustic performances Thursday, Dec. 31 A special year-end World Cafe Dance Party

"The World Cafe", which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air during the 3 to 4 p.m. hour.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on December 3, 1998