Five win Sloan Fellowships

Five Penn faculty were named recipients of the coveted Alfred P. Sloan Jr. Fellowships, awarded annually to promising young faculty. Each of the five will receive a two-year grant of $35,000 for their research.

The recipients are:

  • Rajeev Alur, associate professor of computer and information science, who was selected for his work building computer-aided design systems and research to improve the reliability of systems;

  • Randall Kamien, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, whose work focuses on problems in condensed matter theory and is currently exploring liquid crystals, biologically inspired physics, superconductors and nematic polymers;

  • Chung-Pei Ma, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, whose work on the National Scalable Cluster Project explores intriguing issues about the formation and evolution of galaxies and large-scale structures in the universe;

  • Tony Pantev, assistant professor of mathematics, who splits his time between mathematical physics, algebraic geometry and string theory; and

  • Mary Pugh, assistant professor of mathematics, who studies equations that model the motion of the interface between two fluids that do not mix with each other, such as oil and water.

The Sloan Fellowships are awarded annually to encourage further research by promising young scholars in the fields of physics, chemistry, pure mathematics, neuroscience, applied mathematics, economics and computer science. Fellows are nominated by established faculty within their chosen field. One hundred Sloan Fellowships are awarded each year; 21 past Sloan Fellows have gone on to win Nobel Prizes.

Primosch wins Stoeger Prize

James T. Primosch, associate professor of music and co-director of Penn Contemporary Music, is one of this year's two winners of the Elise L. Stoeger Prize, awarded by the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.

The Stoeger Prize is a cash gift of $10,000 given annually by the CMS to each of two composers in recognition of distinguished achievement in the field of chamber music composition. Primosch was honored for his contemporary and electronic chamber music, which has been praised for its combination of wit, scholarship and accessibility. The other Stoeger Prize honoree this year is Scott Wheeler, artistic director of Boston's Dinosaur Annex Music Ensemble.

The CMS will perform Primosch's "Piano Quintet" (1996) during its 1999-2000 season.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on February 25, 1999