Rare stars and radical legends

The revolution still will not be televised, but "The World Cafe" will broadcast it when legendary poet/musician Gil Scott-Heron drops by on Thursday, March 18. Scott-Heron kicks off two wonderful weeks on "The World Cafe":

  • Thursday, March 18 Gil Scott-Heron drops by the studio for a performance and interview.

  • Friday, March 19 Rusted Root visits Philadelphia's Tin Angel for a live performance and discussion of their latest self-titled album.

  • Monday, March 22 An encore presentation of Natalie Merchant's visit to the World Cafe.

  • Tuesday, March 23 Blues woman Shemekia Copeland drops by the Cafe studios to perform music from her debut album "Turn the Heat Up."

  • Wednesday, March 24 The World Cafe takes a day to appreciate Four Decades of Underappreciated Singer/Songwriters.

  • Thursday, March 25 Orchestral power-popster Jason Falkner performs music from his latest effort, "Can You Still Feel?"

  • Friday, March 26 Singer/songwriter David Wilcox talks about and performs music from his new album "Underneath."

  • Monday, March 29 An encore presentation of Susan Tedeschi's visit to the World Cafe.

  • Tuesday, March 30 Lynn Miles performs and talks about her new album "Night in a Strange Town."

  • Wednesday, March 31 The Cafe celebrates astrology with a special "Once in a Blue Moon" episode.

    "The World Cafe", which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air during the 3 to 4 p.m. hour.

    Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

    Originally published on March 18, 1999