Five to study in Britain as Thouron Scholars

Five outstanding students from this side of the Atlantic will be studying in England, come the fall, as Thouron Scholars.

The prestigious exchange program allows U.S. and British students of exceptional ability - academic excellence, leadership, and personal qualities that would lead them and their home countries to benefit from the exchange - to immerse themselves in the culture and the thinking of another country.

This year's winners from the University are:

This year's scholars (left to right) are Eugene Huang, Brent Neiman, Roshini Thayaparan, Bernadette Spina and Joel I. Herzig (not shown).

Photo by Candace diCarlo

  • Joel I. Herzig (C'96), who graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a degree in anthropology in only three years. He will attend either the School of Oriental and African Studies (in London) or Oxford University.

  • Eugene Huang (W/EAS'99), who will study at Oxford for a degree in philosophy, politics and economics. Huang, whom USA Today recently named on its All-Academic Third Team (see "Academic All-Stars," page 5), developed with another student a remote control that can be programmed to control multiple devices and interact with personal organizers (see "Student Spotlight," Current, Nov. 12, 1998).

  • Brent Neiman (W/EAS'99), who is seeking a degree in applied mathematics from Oxford, Cambridge, Edinburgh or the London School of Economics. He has been both a Benjamin Franklin Scholar and a Joseph Wharton Scholar. He plays on the champion varsity golf team.

  • Bernadette Spina (C'99), who is headed for either Oxford or King's College, where she will pursue studies in medical ethics before returning home to study law. Spina, a consistent dean's list student, is founder and editor-in-chief of Perspectives in Psychology, an undergraduate journal.

  • Roshini Thayaparan (C'99), who is co-founder of the Women in Leadership Series, chair of the Residential Advisory Board, a member of the Dean's Advisory Board of the College, and a tutor for local high school students. She will study at either the University of Manchester or the London School of Economics for a master's on social policy and welfare.

The awards were founded in 1960 by Sir John R.H. Thouron, K.B.E., and the late Esther du Pont, Lady Thouron.

Five faculty elected to AAAS

Five faculty were elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science:

  • S. Walter Englander, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry and biophysics, was elected for his contributions to the understanding of hydrogen exchange and protein and nucleic acid dynamic.

  • Paul Ducheyne, Ph.D., professor of bioengineering, was elected for his research in fundamental materials and his innovative applications of medical prostheses.

  • Garret A. Fitzgerald, M.D., chair of pharmacology and director of the Center for Experimental Therapeutics, was elected for his investigations characterizing the biochemistry and functional role of lipid metabolites in health and disease.

  • Howard Goldfine, M.D., professor of microbiology/medicine, was elected for his contributions to understanding the structure and function of lipids and membranes of bacteria.

  • David P. Balamuth, Ph.D., associate dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, was elected for his experiments using gamma ray spectroscopy and beams of unstable nuclei to study the structure of nuclei.

Psychiatrist honored

  • Joseph R. Volpicelli, M.D, Ph.D., associate professor of psychiatry, was given the Joel Elkes International Award by the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology in December.
       The award was presented for his ongoing studies at the Department of Psychiatry's Treatment Research Center (TRC) of successfully treating alcohol dependence with Naltrexone combined with different types of psychosocial addiction treatment. Volpicelli shares this honor with Dr. Stephanie O'Malley at Yale University, whose studies have supported Volpicelli's findings. He is primary investigator at the Treatment Research Center, a division of the University of Pennsylvania's Department of Psychiatry.

Two graduate students won National Research Council fellowships:

  • Jason M. Wingard was named a 1999 NRC Graduate Fellow for his communications research.

  • Javier F. Barrios was named a Dissertation Fellow for his Spanish history research.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on April 1, 1999