Teachers honored with Lindback, Provost awards

This year's Lindback Award winners for distinquished teaching in non-health and health areas are:

  • Brent Shaw, Ph.D., professor of classical studies, whose undergraduate course in Roman History has doubled in enrollment since he began teaching it two years ago. Admired by graduate students and colleagues as well, he was cited for his "incredible ability to paint vivid pictures of the past."

  • Bruce Mann, J.D., professor of law and history, who was cited for his extensive student contact, is also the recipient of the Harvey Levin Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching at the Law School.

  • Chung-Pei Ma, Ph.D., assistant professor of physics and astronomy was cited for her ability to make the mysteries of astronomy understandable to all her students. A revised Astrophysics 1 course that she worked to develop after the merger of the Physics and Astronomy departments, has seen enrollments increase over the past three years.

  • Robert St. George, Ph.D., associate professor and graduate chairman of folklore and folklife as well as the director/chair of American studies, whose "charismatic" teaching can "draw students into his own fascination with the world."

  • Robert R. Gaiser, B.S.E., M.D., assistant professor of anesthesia, whose mentoring has led students to follow in his footsteps. One student noted that Gaiser was not only a "gifted academic" but "a truly decent human being."

  • John Hansen-Flaschen, M.D., associate professor of medicine, under whose leadership, the division of pulmonary and critical care has become one of the best in the country. He was cited for his sensitivity to the needs of patients and their families.

  • James Barron Lok, Ph.D., associate professor of parasitology and pathobiology, whose leading role in reorganizing the Veterinary School's curriculum did not stop him from generously sharing his time and giving his support to students.

  • David Manning, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology, who gave exceptional service as director of several graduate courses as well as provided training for post-doctoral students. He shares a sense of excitement about his work and remains accessible to students and colleagues.

Provost's Award

  • Janet Tighe, Ph.D., a lecturer in the history and sociology of science, has been named this year's Provost's Award winner. Her daily postmortem of her undergraduate classes: what lectures worked and why; what readings captured the students' interest; and which questions produced thoughtful answers, all were an education to a future teacher, one former student stated.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on April 15, 1999