Awards to young researchers

  • I. Joseph Kroll, Ph.D., has won an Outstanding Junior Investigator award - one of about three per year in high energy physics - from the U.S. Department of Energy. The $300,000 award will be spread over several years. Kroll's research is in experimental high energy particle physics - specifically B hadrons - examining data from proton-antiproton collisions produced at Fermilab in Batavia, Ill.

  • Andrew M. Rappe, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry, was one of 20 young scientists nationwide to be selected this year for a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, which supports young faculty in the sciences. The $60,000 award includes $5,000 to go for undergraduate educational purposes to Rappe's department, chemistry, and no more than $5,000 for institutional administrative purposes. The remaining $50,000 goes to Rappe and his research into tailoring molecule-surface properties.

Best tooth teachers

The School of Dental Medicine cited five faculty for teaching excellence last month:

  • Bal Goyal, D.M.D., associate professor of restorative dentistry, and Nathan Kobrin, B.D.S., clinical assistant professor of restorative dentistry, both received the Robert E. DeRevere Award for excellence in pre-clinical teaching by a part-time faculty member.

  • Nasrin Satat-Larijani, D.M.D., assistant porofessor of clinical education in restorative dentistry, won the Joseph L.T. Appleton Award for excellence in clinical teaching.

  • Scott DeRossi, D.M.D., assistant professor of oral medicine, was given the Earle Bank Hoyt Award for an alumnus who is a full-time jurnior clinical faculty member.

  • Elliot Hersh, D.M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of oral surgery and pharmacology and director of pharmacology and therapeutics, was given the Basic Science Award for excellence in teaching basic science.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on May 27, 1999