Get ready for Warhol Week


No, the groundbreaking pop artist isn’t coming back from the dead to perform on “The World Cafe.” Instead, the Cafe will spend a week at the Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh, featuring live performances from some of today’s groundbreaking contemporary musicians.

Until the “Week at the Warhol” begins Monday, Sept. 13, there’s plenty of other choice items on the Cafe menu:

  • Thursday, Sept. 2 Country-and-western legend Willie Nelson drops by the Cafe for a special performance and interview
  • Friday, Sept. 3 Dave Matthews visits Philadelphia’s Indre Studios for a solo acoustic performance
  • Monday, Sept. 6 An encore presentation of Terri Hendrix’s Cafe visit
  • Tuesday, Sept. 7 Najma visits the World Cafe for a performance and interview featuring music from her latest album, “Asana”
  • Wednesday, Sept. 8 Musical pioneer Moby talks with David Dye and plays music from his newest release, “Play”
  • Thursday, Sept. 9 Jazz guitarist Bill Sims visits the studio for a performance and discussion of his self-titled debut
  • Friday, Sept. 10 Bruce Cockburn performs in front of an audience in Boulder, Colo., at the Gavin Convention
  • Monday, Sept. 13 The “Week at the Warhol” kicks off with a live performance from Jonatha Brooke recorded at the Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh
  • Tuesday, Sept. 14 The “Week at the Warhol” continues with a performance from Boston’s The Push Stars
  • Wednesday, Sept. 15 Martin Sexton performs music from his latest release, “The American,” at the Warhol Museum

“The World Cafe,” which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air from 3 to 4 p.m.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page | What's On

Originally published on September 2, 1999