Plenty on the “World Cafe” menu


Featured performers on The World Cafe during the next two weeks are:

  • Thursday, Sept. 16 Peter Himmelman stops by the Warhol Museum for a performance and interview
  • Friday, Sept. 17 The Week at the Warhol concludes with a special mini-concert from Kim Richey, featuring music from her latest album, Glimmer
  • Monday, Sept. 20 An encore presentation of Freedy Johnstons studio visit
  • Tuesday, Sept. 21 Long-time World Cafe friend Ben Vaughn visits the studios
  • Wednesday, Sept. 22 Country singer/songwriter Ray Wylie Hubbard talks about and performs music from his latest release, Crusades of the Restless Nights
  • Thursday, Sept 23 Edgar Meyer brings friends and collaborators Joshua Bell, Sam Bush and Mike Marshall to the Cafe studios for a discussion and demonstration of their new classical/bluegrass project, A Short Trip Home
  • Friday, Sept. 24 Blues guitarist Jonny Lang visits the studio
  • Monday, Sept. 27 To be announced
  • Tuesday, Sept. 28 Jeremy Toback stops by the studio to perform music from his new album, Another True Fiction
  • Wednesday, Sept. 29 Singer/ songwriter David Mead performs music from his debut album, The Luxury of Time

The World Cafe, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on September 16, 1999