Legends, flashbacks, folk-hop and more

One of the true legends of American folk music, Odetta, joins “World Cafe” host David Dye in the studio for a special visit on Tuesday, Oct. 5. Another legend, blues singer Taj Mahal, performs selections from a new collaboration with Mali’s Toumani Diabat on Thursday, Sept. 30.

Other highlights over the next two weeks include:

  • Thursday, Sept. 30 - Blues legend Taj Mahal pairs up with Malian kora player Toumani Diabat to perform music from their new collaboration, “Kulanjan”

  • Friday, Oct. 1 - A performance recorded live by Canada’s pride, Moxy Fruvous, featuring music from their latest effort, “Thornhill”

  • Monday, Oct. 4 - An encore presentation of Bruce Cockburn’s Cafe visit

  • Tuesday, Oct. 5 - Folk legend Odetta visits with David Dye in the World Cafe studios

  • Wednesday, Oct. 6 - From the Carolinas, acoustic funk popsters Jump, Little Children visit the World Cafe to perform music from their debut album, “Magazine”

  • Thursday, Oct. 7 - The Stone Coyotes, masters of the four-chord pop song, visit with David and play music from their album “Church of the Falling Rain”

  • Friday, Oct. 8 - The World Cafe remembers WXPN’s Singer/Songwriter Weekend with performances from the Old 97’s, Duncan Sheik, Indigenous, Richard Thompson and much more

  • Monday, Oct. 11 - The World Cafe celebrates Indigenous People’s Day

  • Tuesday, Oct. 12 - New folk singer/songwriter Cliff Eberhardt visits the studio to perform music from his newest release, “Borders”

  • Wednesday, Oct. 13 - The World Cafe explores the folk-hop movement with visits from two new bands, Snakefarm and Equation

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on September 30, 1999