New releases and second helpings


New recordings from Stacey Earle, Bruce Henderson and Ann Klein are among the highlights of the next two weeks of The World Cafe. There are also special shows devoted to gospel and the music of Townes Van Zandt, plus some repeats of favorite shows from the past.

  • Thursday, Oct. 14 The Bottle Rockets perform music from their newest release, Brand New Year

  • Friday, Oct. 15 Billy Bragg and the Blokes visit Philadelphias Indre Studios for a performance and interview featuring music from the new album Reaching to the Converted

  • Monday, Oct. 18 An encore presentation of Kim Richeys Cafe visit

  • Tuesday, Oct. 19 A special gospel show

  • Wednesday, Oct. 20 Ann Klein plays music from her latest release, For the Love of Love

  • Thursday, Oct. 21 The Cafe celebrates the music of Townes Van Zandt

  • Friday, Oct. 22 Luka Bloom visits the Cafe studios to play music from his new album, Salty Heaven

  • Monday, Oct. 25 An encore presentation of Willy Porters studio visit

  • Tuesday, Oct. 26 Singer/songwriter/little sister Stacey Earle talks with David Dye and performs music from her debut album, Simple Gearle

  • Wednesday, Oct. 27 Former High Plains Drifter Bruce Henderson drops by for an interview and performance featuring songs from his new album, Beyond The Pale

    The World Cafe, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

 

Front page for this issue | Pennsylvania Current home page

Originally published on October 14, 1999