Vintage Western


“The World Cafe’s” lineup these next two weeks has a decidedly Western flavor, with featured performances by Asleep at the Wheel, Denise Franke and New Grange. But the Cafe folks are never the types to stay in one place long, as the rest of the schedule should make clear.

Thursday, Jan. 20 Rock n’ roll Renaissance man Marshall Crenshaw talks and performs music from his latest album, “#447”

Friday, Jan. 21 Asleep at the Wheel bring their Western Swing Revival sound to the Cafe studios with songs from their new album, “Ride With Bob”

Monday, Jan. 24 An encore presentation of Alison Krause’s studio visit

Tuesday, Jan. 25 Colorado folk singer Denise Franke drops by for a performance and interview

Wednesday, Jan. 26 Health & Happiness Show talk to Michaela Majoun about their new album, “Sad & Sexy”

Thursday, Jan. 27 Boston trio Guster perform music from “Lost & Gone Forever”

Friday, Jan. 28 Singer/songwriter Richard Shindell visits the Cafe studio

Monday, Jan. 31 An encore presentation of New Grange’s studio visit

Tuesday, Feb. 1 To be announced

Wednesday, Feb. 2 To be announced

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Originally published on January 20, 2000