Wolf Prize to Raymond Davis Jr. for creating neutrino astronomy

Image goes here. Be sure to supply an ALT tag.

Raymond Davis Jr.

Image goes here. Be sure to supply an ALT tag.

Lawrence W. Sherman

Raymond Davis Jr., Ph.D., Research Professor of Astronomy, along with Masatoshi Koshiba of the University of Tokyo, has been awarded the Wolf Foundation Prize in Physics for 2000. They were cited “for their pioneering observations of astronomical phenoma by detection of neutrinos, thus creating the emerging field of neutrino astronomy.” The $100,000 prize will be awarded by the President of Israel in a special ceremony in the Knesset in May.

Criminologist takes two

Lawrence W. Sherman, Professor of Human Relations and Director of the Fels Center of Government, has been awarded the 1999 Edwin H. Sutherland Award, presented annually by the American Society of Criminology, for a lifetime of research achievements, including his pioneering field experiments in arrests and police raids and his applications of research to public policy for “evidence-based crime prevention.”
Sherman, the most frequently cited author in the field of criminology according to a 1999 study, was also elected President of the International Society of Criminology. Sherman serves as an advisor to Philadelphia Police Commissioner John Timoney and Mayor-elect John Street. Sherman is internationally renowned for his studies of the effectiveness of public policies for reducing crime. Sherman is only the third U.S. citizen to head the Society in its 61-year history. He will serve a five-year term.

Two AAAS fellows

Jenny Pickworth Glusker, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, was elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in pharmaceutical sciences for her work in elucidating the role of metals in biological materials.

Vivianne T. Nachmias, M.D., Professor Emeritus of Cell and Developmental Biology, was elected to the AAAS in medical sciences for her work on actomyosins in cell motility and her codiscovery of the function of beta-thymosin.


Robert P. Inman, Ph.D., Miller-Sharrard Professor and Professor of Finance, Public Policy and Management and Real Estate at Wharton, has won a Fulbright for overseas scholarly work.

Martin Carroll, M.D., Assistant Professor of Hematology and Oncology, received one of the first Medical Research Awards from the G&P Charitable Foundation for Cancer Research at a luncheon ceremony in New York Dec. 9. Carroll’s award, one of eight awards totaling $1.4 million, will fund his research on ways to block the pathways required for the continued growth of leukemia cells. The foundation, established in 1996, supports research into the prevention and treatment of cancers of the blood.

The Women’s Health Program of the Medical Center was recognized by the National Association for Women’s Health in its eighth annual Awards for Excellence in Women’s Health. The program, headed by Executive Administrator Virginia Roberts, received honorable mention in the Outstanding Comprehensive Services in Ambulatory Services category.

Thomas M. Seamon, Vice President for Public Safety, has been named Chairman of the American Society for Industrial Security Law Enforcement Liaison Council.

Robert Schoenberg, D.S.W., Director of the Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Center, has assumed the position of chair of the National Consortium of directors of Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Resources in Higher Education. “In its choice, the consortium is not only expressing its confidence in me; it is also recognizing the services and programs of Penn’s LGBT Center.”

C. William Hanson, III, M.D., Associate Professor of Anesthesia, Surgery and Medicine, has been elected President of the American Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists.

The Rev. William Gipson, University Chaplain, has been elected as president of the Association of College and University Religious Affairs (ACURA). Gipson will serve a two-year term. ACURA is composed of a variety of institutions, from large research universities to small liberal-arts schools.

Arboretum honors

Paul W. Meyer, the F. Otto Haas Director of the Morris Arboretum, has received the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s annual Distinguished Achievement Award. In bestowing the honor, the society cited his “diverse and exceptional” influence on horticulture in the mid-Atlantic region over the past quarter century. Meyer, who joined the arboretum in 1976 as curator of the Living Collections and became director in 1991, also serves on the society’s Gold Medal Plant Award Committee.

Morris Arboretum received a Centennial Medallion from the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) for being one of the most beautiful and well-loved gardens in the region.

Originally published on February 3, 2000