New blues and Brits


A new release from bluesman Joe Louis Walker and a debut from English singer-songwriter Leona Naess are among the highlights on “The World Cafe” in the coming weeks. But first, host David Dye has to return from Park City, Utah.

Thursday, Feb. 17 David Dye continues with reports from the Sundance Music and Film Festival

Friday, Feb. 18 The Cafe wraps up its week at the Sundance festival

Monday, Feb. 21 An encore presentation of Richard Shindell’s studio visit

Tuesday, Feb. 22 Contemporary bluesman Joe Louis Walker performs music from his latest release, “Silvertone Blues”

Wednesday, Feb. 23 The Cafe takes a musical journey to the city of Detroit

Thursday, Feb. 24 David Dye visits Macy Gray at the Theater of Living Arts for a special performance featuring music from her debut, “On How Life Is”

Friday, Feb. 25 Steve Forbert drops by for an interview and performance featuring music from “Evergreen Boy”

Monday, Feb. 28 An encore presentation of Asleep At the Wheel’s Cafe visit

Tuesday, Feb. 29 To be announced

Wednesday, March 1 English singer-songwriter Leona Naess visits and performs music from her debut, “Comatised”

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Originally published on February 17, 2000