Back to Sundance


“World Cafe” host David Dye returns to Park City, Utah, for a second week of live events from the Sundance Music and Film Festival beginning March 6. Other notable s dropping by these next few weeks include Shelby Lynne, Yo-Yo Ma, James Galway and the Chieftains.

Thursday, March 2 Singer/ songwriter John Flynn visits the studio

Friday, March 3 Shelby Lynne performs music from her latest album, “I Am Shelby Lynne”

Monday, March 6 The World Cafe begins its second week at Sundance with Janis Ian live at the BMG Music studios

Tuesday, March 7 The Cafe’s Sundance week continues with a visit from Mike Younger

Wednesday, March 8 Tommy Sims, recorded live at the BMG Music studios

Thursday, March 9 David Dye reports from Sundance and Brian Van Der Ark of the Verve Pipe performs

Friday, March 10 The World Cafe wraps up its Sundance week with a visit from Duncan Sheik

Tuesday, March 14 The Bacon Bros. play the folk/rock/Southern country sounds of their sophmore effort, “Getting There”

Wednesday, March 15 Singer/ songwriter Tara MacLean talks about and plays music from her new album, “Passenger”

Thursday, March 16 David Dye visits with Yo-Yo Ma and friends

Friday, March 17 The Cafe spends St. Patrick’s Day with The Chieftains and James Galway

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN-FM (88.5) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Originally published on March 2, 2000