What’s past is present


Talk about irony. The featured artist on today’s “World Cafe” is Ian Anderson, the front man for Jethro Tull, which had a mid-’70s hit album called “Living in the Past.” Then, on April 18, along comes Eric Anderson (no relation), whose latest album asserts “You Can’t Relive the Past.” Who’s right? Who cares? They’re both worth a listen.

Thursday, April 6 Jethro Tull front man Ian Anderson performs music from his solo album “The Secret Language of Birds”

Friday, April 7 David Crosby drops by the World Cafe

Monday, April 10 An encore presentation of Appalachian Journey’s visit

Tuesday, April 11 Singer/songwriter David Olney plays music from his latest album, “Omar’s Blues”

Wednesday, April 12 Gomez visits the Cafe and performs music from their latest release, “Liquid Skin”

Thursday, April 13 Chantel Kreviazuk drops by for a performance and interview

Friday, April 14 Jimmie Dale Gilmore performs music from his new album, “One Endless Night”

Monday, April 17 An encore presentation of the Kennedys’ visit

Tuesday, April 18 Folk singer/ songwriter Eric Anderson talks about and plays music from his latest release, “You Can’t Relive the Past”

Wednesday, April 19 Bluesbreaker Coco Montoya visits the Cafe to perform music from his solo album “Suspicion”

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

 

Originally published on April 6, 2000