NSF award for Discher

Dennis E. Discher, Ph.D., assistant professor of mechanical engineering, has received a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from the National Science Foundation. The award, one of about 20 such awards given each year, supports outstanding research by junior faculty in the sciences, medicine and engineering across the country. Discher received the award for his study of the adhesion and mechanics of normal and dystropic muscle cell membranes as a cellular engineering basis for gene therapy.

Fay Ajzenberg-Selove, Ph.D., professor of physics, has received the Nicholson Medal for Humanitarian Service from the American Physical Society. Azjenberg-Selove received the annual medal jointly with Mildred S. Dresselhaus of MIT. The two were honored “for being a compassionate mentor and lifelong friend to young scientists, for setting high standards as researchers, teachers and citizens, and for promoting international ties in science,” according to the society’s citation.

Yu H. Ku, Ph.D., professor emeritus of electrical and systems engineering, has received a Third Millennium Medal from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Golden Jubilee Medal from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society for his lifetime achievements and contributions.

The Health System has been designated one of eight nationally recognized research sites for the study of colorectal cancer by the National Colorectal Cancer Research Alliance. In addition, the alliance has named Anil K. Rustigi, M.D., associate professor of medicine and genetics and chief of the gastroenterology division of the Medical Center, to its research advisory board, which includes faculty from each of the eight sites. The foundation was officially launched in March by NBC “Today Show” host Katie Couric, cancer fund-raiser Lilly Tartikoff and the Entertainment Industry Foundation.

Another campus landmark

The Edgar Fahs Smith Memorial Collection in the History of Chemistry in the University Library was designated a National Historical Chemical Landmark by the American Chemical Society in a ceremony March 16 at the library. The collection, begun over a century ago by chemist and University Provost Smith, is considered “a seminal achievement in the history of chemistry and chemical technology” by the society.

Originally published on April 20, 2000