Cross the heartland


Among the performers featured on “The World Cafe” these next two weeks are some Midwestern boys who’ve hit the big time: jazz guitarist Pat Metheny, Lee’s Summit, Mo.’s favorite son, and alt-rockers the Jayhawks from the next state west. But the rest of the country’s well-represented too.

Thursday, April 20 Folk/jazz legend in the making Terry Callier drops by the World Cafe studios

Friday, April 21 The Jayhawks visit Philadelphia’s Indre recording studios to preview work from their forthcoming album, “Smile”

Monday, April 24 An encore presentation of Slaid Cleaves’ visit

Tuesday, April 25 Jill Sobule visits Indre studios to talk about and play music from her new album, “Pink Pearl”

Wednesday, April 26 Country rockers BR5-49 play music from their new live album, “Coast to Coast”

Thursday, April 27 Allman Brothers side project Gov’t Mule bring music from their latest effort, “Life Before Insanity,” to the Cafe studios

Friday, April 28 Guitar virtuoso Pat Metheny visits the World Cafe

Monday, May 1 An encore presentation of Brooks Williams’ studio visit

Tuesday, May 2 Corey Harris drops and plays music from his latest release, “Vu-Du Menz”

Wednesday, May 3 The Cafe welcomes two promising young bands to the studio: Matt Pond PA and the Banjo Spiders

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

 

Originally published on April 20, 2000