Play it again, David

“World Cafe” host David Dye is on vacation the week of May 8, which gives the Cafe staff a chance to dust off some of their favorite recent shows for you to enjoy all over again. There’s also great new stuff from next door (Marah, May 5) and halfway around the world (Japan’s Ryuichi Sakamoto, May 17) to round out the next two weeks.

Thursday, May 4 Singer/songwriter David Gray performs music from his latest album, “White Ladder”

Friday, May 5 Marah stop by the Cafe for a performance and interview featuring work from their sophmore album, “Kids in Philly”

Monday, May 8 An encore presentation of Warren Zevon’s visit

Tuesday, May 9 Shelby Lynne performs music from her latest release, “I Am Shelby Lynne”

Wednesday, May 10 The Jayhawks preview work from their forthcoming album, “Smile,” at Indre recording studios

Thursday, May 11 Michael Penn and Aimee Mann bring their “Acoustic Vaudeville” show to the Cafe studio

Friday, May 12 The Paula Cole Band visit Indre studios

Monday, May 15 An encore presentation of Jimmie Dale Gilmore’s visit

Tuesday, May 16 Cape Breton fiddler Natalie MacMaster performs music from her latest album, “My Roots Are Showing”

Wednesday, May 17 Prolific composer Ryuichi Sakamoto stops by Indre studios for a performance and interview

“The World Cafe”, which is heard on more than 100 public radio stations nationwide, is produced by WXPN (88.5 FM) and airs locally from 2 to 7 p.m. weekdays. All live appearances air between 3 and 4 p.m.

Originally published on May 4, 2000