NSF grant to Saven

Jeffrey G. Saven, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry, has been awarded a $339,972 grant from the National Science Foundation for his work in the field of theoretical and computational chemistry. The foundation’s three-year CAREER grant will fund Saven’s work in developing new techniques for quantitative understanding of protein folding.

Barbara Dianne Savage, Ph.D.,J.D., assistant professor of history, has been named winner of the 1999 Herbert Hoover Book Award for her work, “Broadcasting Freedom: Radio, War and the Politics of Race” (Current, Nov. 11, 1999). Her work scrutinizes the way radio broadcasting addressed issues of race during World War II. Savage’s book was selected from 70 entries, all of which examined aspects of American history from 1914 to 1964, the years spanning President Hoover’s career in public service.

Peter Ubel, M.D., assistant professor of general internal medicine and fellow at the Center for Bioethics, has received the National Science Foundation’s Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, for his research on how the healthcare industry can set priorities for medical treatment that are based on the values of patients and the general public. The $125,000, five-year grant, which is given to scientists and engineers for early-career achievements, recognizes the work Dr. Ubel has written about in “Pricing Life: Why It’s Time for Healthcare Rationing.”

More Fulbrights

In addition to the 11 Fulbright recipients listed in the May 4 Current, three other Penn students selected for international study grants as Fulbright Fellows this spring are:

Jennifer Sessions, a graduate student in history, who will study in France;

Alyson Lease, an undergraduate in biomedical engineering and English, who will study in South Africa; and

Anne Mani, an undergraduate in the biological basis of behavior and South Asia regional studies, India.

Other honors

Scott T.R. Walsh, a Ph.D. candidate in biochemistry and biophysics, was one of 17 graduate students from around the nation selected to receive the Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award, newly established by the Basic Sciences Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle. Winners, who participated in a scientific symposium May 5 and 6 at the Hutchinson Center, were selected on the basis of the quality, originality and significance of their work.

Leonard Jarett, M.D., Distinguished Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Science at the School of Medicine, has received this year’s Gold-Headed Cane Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology, in recognition of his long-term contributions to the field.

Glenn McGee, Ph.D., bioethicist at the University of Pennsylvania Health System, has been named editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Bioethics. McGee, who has called for physicians and scientists to join philosophers, theologians and social scientists in considering ethicial issues, is the author of three books and more than 100 articles on bioethics.

Eisenhower Fellows

Two Penn administrators will travel to far regions of the world as Eisenhower Fellows, examining how other places have solved problems similar to the ones they face here in Philadelphia. Among the 13 local leaders selected:

Tom Lussenhop, managing director of institutional real estate; and

Christine Massey (Gr’88), director of educational outreach at the Institute for Research in Cognitive Science.

Fellows also include alumni David Hyman (C’75, GEd’76) and Pedro Ramos (C’87) (Current, April 20).

Originally published on May 18, 2000