University News

12
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Jacquie Posey | jposey@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-898-6460August 2, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Julie McWilliams | juliemcw@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-898-1422
Media Contact:Sharon Goldmacher | sgoldmacher@c21pr.com | 404-386-0500July 12, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Jeanne Leong | jleong@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-573-8151July 6, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Julie McWilliams | juliemcw@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-898-1422July 3, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Sara Stewart | arg@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-898-3617July 2, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Marc Kaplan | marc.kaplan@uphs.upenn.edu | 215-662-2560June 29, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Jacquie Posey | 215-898-6460 | jposey@pobox.upenn.eJune 28, 2007

Penn Grad Student Wins Miss Pennsylvania Title

PHILADELPHIA - Rachel Brooks, a graduate student at the University of Pennsylvania's Fels Institute of Government is the new Miss Pennsylvania and will represent the state in the Miss America Pageant.

The 24-year-old from Broomall, Pa., competed as Miss River City.

As the new Miss Pennsylvania, Brooks will be awarded a $7,000 scholarship.  Her volunteer platform is "Autism Awareness: Unlocking the Mystery."  She plans to pursue a career in public service, academia and private consulting.

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Jordan Reese | jreese@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-537-6604June 26, 2007
facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact: | | June 26, 2007

Statement by President Amy Gutmann Opposing Boycott of Israeli Academics

A small leadership group of the new British University and Colleges Union has recommended a boycott of Israeli universities and scholars by British universities.  This proposed boycott represents a direct assault on a core principle of academic freedom. University scholars must be free to produce and disseminate knowledge and understanding, without threat of interference or penalty, regardless of the policies of their national governments. This freedom is a sine qua non of higher education's global--and globally recognized--mission.  

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Leo Charney | lcharney@pobox.upenn.edu | 215-898-7227June 18, 2007