Fall 2019 catalog cover

The Penn Press list for fall 2019 includes hardcover releases, first-time paperbacks, and ebook editions intended for scholars, students, and serious general readers worldwide. Click here to explore our forthcoming books, grouped by subject area.

The Passing of the Hapsburg Monarchy, 1914-1918, Volume 1

Arthur J. May

496 pages | 5 1/2 x 8 1/4
Ebook 2016 | ISBN 9781512804263 | Buy from De Gruyter $79.95 | €69.95 | £70.50
This book is available under special arrangement from our European publishing partner De Gruyter.
An Anniversary Collection volume

The dramatic assassination of Archduke Ferdinand at Sarajevo opened the door to a tragic struggle which concluded with the disintegration of the curious dual empire of Austria­ Hungary and radically altered the political configuration of central Europe. This work, the culmination of a lifetime of study and thought on the Hapsburg Monarchy, penetrates its somber theme—the death throes of a recognized great power—in greater depth than any previous book. While it is of necessity heavily weighted with diplomatic and military affairs, a studied effort has been made to allocate appropriate attention to the internal evolution of the twinship of Austria-Hungary in all its variety and amplitude. The instructive story of the decline and collapse of this great power will have relevance not only for students of modern history but also for specialists in political science and for general readers who wish to understand the present shape of central Europe.

Arthur J. May was Professor of European History at the University of Rochester.

View your shopping cart | Browse Penn Press titles in European History, World History | Join our mailing list