Penn Press logo
Modern Constitutions
Search the full text of this book:

Powered by Google

Modern Constitutions

Edited by Rogers M. Smith and Richard R. Beeman

360 pages | 6 x 9 | 8 illus.
Cloth 2020 | ISBN 9780812252347 | $69.95s | Outside the Americas £56.00
Ebook editions are available from selected online vendors
A volume in the series Democracy, Citizenship, and Constitutionalism
View table of contents and excerpt

More than two millennia ago, Aristotle is said to have compiled a collection of ancient constitutions that informed his studies of politics. For Aristotle, constitutions largely distilled and described the varied and distinctive patterns of political life established over time. What constitutionalism has come to mean in the modern era, on the other hand, originates chiefly in the late eighteenth century and primarily with the U.S. Constitution—written in 1787 and made effective in 1789—and the various French constitutions that first appeared in 1791.

In the last half century, more than 130 nations have adopted new constitutions, half of those within the last twenty years. These new constitutions are devoted to many of the same goals found in the U.S. Constitution: the rule of law, representative self-government, and protection of rights. But by canvassing constitutional developments at the national and state level in the United States alongside modern constitutions in Eastern and Western Europe, Africa, and Asia, the contributors to Modern Constitutions—all leading scholars of constitutionalism—show that modern constitutions often seek to protect social rights and to establish representative institutions, forms of federalism, and courts charged with constitutional review that depart from or go far beyond the seminal U.S. example. Partly because of their innovations, however, many modern constitutional systems now confront mounting authoritarian pressures that put fundamental commitments to the rule of law in jeopardy.

The contributions in this volume collectively provide a measure of guidance for the challenges and prospects of modern constitutions in the rapidly changing political world of the twenty-first century.

Contributors: Richard R. Beeman, Valerie Bunce, Tom Ginsburg, Heinz Klug, David S. Law, Sanford Levinson, Jaime Lluch, Christopher McCrudden, Kim Lane Scheppele, Rogers M. Smith, Mila Versteeg, Emily Zackin.

Rogers M. Smith is the Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science at the University of Pennsylvania. He is the author or coauthor of eight books, most recently That Is Not Who We Are! Populism and Peoplehood.

Richard R. Beeman (1942-2016) was the John Welsch Centennial Professor History, Emeritus, at the University of Pennsylvania. He was the author of eight books including Our Lives, Our Fortunes and Our Sacred Honor: The Forging of American Independence, 1774-1776.

View your shopping cart | Browse Penn Press titles in Political Science, Public Policy | Join our mailing list

Penn Press | Site Use and Privacy Policy
Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | University of Pennsylvania
Copyright © 2021 University of Pennsylvania Press | All rights reserved