Aeschylus, 1
Search the full text of this book:

Powered by Google

Aeschylus, 1
The Oresteia (Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, The Eumenides)

Edited and translated by David R. Slavitt

178 pages | 5 1/2 x 8 1/2
Paper 1997 | ISBN 9780812216271 | $24.95s | Outside the Americas £19.99
A volume in the Penn Greek Drama Series

"What David Slavitt does, as the early Roman poets did, is to take a poem as his 'model' and make it his own by creating in late twentieth-century English an appropriate equivalent of the ancient poem. His Oresteia is the most lively and readable version known to me."—Gordon Williams

Praise for the series:

"A boon for classicists and general readers alike. For the reader who comes to tragedy for the first time, these translations are eminently 'accessible.'. . . For the classicist, these versions constitute an ambitious reinterpretation of traditional masterpieces."—Boston Book Review

The Penn Greek Drama Series presents original literary translations of the entire corpus of classical Greek drama: tragedies, comedies, and satyr plays. It is the only contemporary series of all the surviving work of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, Aristophanes, and Menander.

David R. Slavitt was educated at Andover and Yale and has published more than sixty books: original poetry (recently Eight Longer Poems), translations (recently Broken Columns, of Statius and Claudian), novels (recently Lives of the Saints), critical works (recently Virgil), and short stories. He worked for seven years as a journalist at Newsweek and continues to do freelance reporting and reviewing. With Palmer Bovie he coedited the series Complete Roman Drama in Translation.

View your shopping cart | Browse Penn Press titles in Ancient Studies | Join our mailing list