Consultative Committee
for the Selection of a President

The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania have no more important responsibility than the selection of the University President. With the need to identify a successor to Amy Gutmann, the Executive Committee of the Trustees has formed a Consultative Committee to support the presidential search process.

As prescribed by our governing statutes, the Consultative Committee shall include Trustees, Deans, representatives of the undergraduate and graduate student bodies, staff, and faculty chosen in consultation with the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate.

The Consultative Committee “will be charged with seeking the advice of their respective constituencies on the challenges a new president might face, strategic priorities, and recommended strengths and experience for the new President.” The results of the work of the Consultative Committee will inform the position description and provide criteria for the identification of potential candidates.

We invite members of the University Community to provide input by responding to the survey on the presidential search or directly to a member of the Consultative Committee listed below.

The outcome of our search will affect the University far into the future. The goal of the Trustees, in which they seek the Committee’s assistance, and the Penn community’s input, is to identify the best individual to serve as the new president of this extraordinary institution.

-- Scott L. Bok, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Consultative Committee Membership


Scott L. Bok, C'81, W'81, L'84, Charter Trustee


Lee Spelman Doty, W'76, Charter Trustee
Perry Golkin, W'74, WG'74, L'78, Charter Trustee
Patricia Martín, M'85, Alumni Trustee
Marc F. McMorris, C'90, WG'94, Charter Trustee
Julie Beren Platt, C'79, Charter Trustee
Alan D. Schnitzer, W'88, Term Trustee


John L.  Jackson, Jr., Walter H. Annenberg Dean of the Annenberg School for Communication and Richard Perry University Professor
J. Larry Jameson, Executive Vice President of the University for the Health System, Dean of the Perelman School of Medicine, and Robert G. Dunlop Professor, Perelman School of Medicine


Vivian L. Gadsden, William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education, Graduate School of Education
Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication, Annenberg School for Communication and Director, Annenberg Public Policy Center
Jennifer A. Pinto-Martin, Viola MacInnes/Independence Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, Professor of Epidemiology, Perelman School of Medicine, Director, Master of Public Health Program, and Executive Director, Center for Public Health Initiatives
Eve M. Troutt Powell, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of History, School of Arts and Sciences
Michael Weisberg, Professor and Chair of Philosophy, School of Arts and Sciences, Senior Faculty Fellow and Director of Post Graduate Programs at Perry World House, and Co-Director of the Penn Laboratory for Understanding Science


Stacey Lopez, Vice President for Institutional Research and Analysis


Victoria Borlase, C’22, President, Undergraduate Assembly
Paradorn Rummaneethorn, GEN’21, GR’24, President, Graduate and Professional Student Assembly

Supporting the work of the Consultative Committee

Medha Narvekar, WG’86, Vice President and University Secretary
Margaret Lizotte, Search Coordinator